How to know the registered Universities in Kenya

How to know the registered Universities in Kenya

The Commission for University Education (CUE) mandated to ensure that Universities operating in Kenya are registered and offer quality education. A good example of its operation is when the commission clamped down the operations of Barack Obama University on Tuesday 2nd June 2015. The ‘university’ in Ndenderu township of Kiambu County was closed down as it was not approved to operate in Kenya.

Many students have been previously deceived and they end up doing unrecognized courses in unregistered university. To avoid falling in the same trap, below is a list of registered universities as per CUE November 2015 list.

Registered Universities in Kenya

Public Chartered Universities

1. University of Nairobi (UoN)

2. Moi University (MU)

3. Kenyatta University (KU)

4. Egerton University (EU)

5. Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology

6. Maseno University (Maseno)

7. Dedan Kimathi University of Technology

8. Chuka University

9. Technical University of Kenya

10. Technical University of Mombasa

11. Pwani University

12. Kisii University

13. Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology

14. Maasai Mara University

15. South Eastern Kenya University

16. Meru University of Science and Technology

17. Multimedia University of Kenya

18. Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology

19. Laikipia University

20. University of Kabianga

21. University of Eldoret

22. Karatina University

23. Kibabii University


Public University Constituent Colleges

24. Embu University College (UoN)

25. Kirinyaga University College (JKUAT)

26. Garissa University College (MU)

27. Murang’a University College (JKUAT)

28. Machakos University College (KU)

29. Rongo University College (MU)

30. Taita Taveta University College (JKUAT)

31. The Cooperative University College of Kenya (JKUAT)

32. Kaimosi Friends University College (MMUST)

33. Alupe University College (MU)


Private Chartered Universities

34. University of Eastern Africa, Baraton

35. Catholic University of Eastern Africa (CUEA)

36. Daystar University

37. Scott Christian University

38. United States International University

39. St. Paul’s University

40. Pan Africa Christian University

41. Africa International University

42. Kenya Highlands Evangelical University

43. Africa Nazarene University

44. Kenya Methodist University

45. Strathmore University

46. Kabarak University

47. Great Lakes University of Kisumu

48. KCA University

49. Mount Kenya University

50. Adventist University of Africa


Private University Constituent Colleges

51. Hekima University College (CUEA)

52. Tangaza University College (CUEA)

53. Marist International University College (CUEA)

54. Regina Pacis University College (CUEA)

55. Uzima University College (CUEA)


Institutions with Letter of Interim Authority (LIA)

56. Kiriri Women’s University of Science and Technology

57. Aga Khan University

58. GRETSA University

59. Presbyterian University of East Africa

60. Inoorero University

61. The East African University

62. GENCO University

63. Management University of Africa

64. Riara University

65. Pioneer International University

66. UMMA University

67. International Leadership University

68. Zetech University

69. Lukenya University


Registered Private Institutions

70 .KAG EAST University