CABINET SECRETARIES (CSs) IN KENYA – On 14 January 2020, President Uhuru Kenyatta had a Cabinet secretaries’ reshuffle where he fired Mwangi Kiunjuri from the Ministry of Agriculture. Currently, the number of Cabinet Secretaries in Kenya is 21 with two nominees: Mutahi Kagwe and Betty Maina. The reshuffled CSs include Amb. Raychelle A. Omamo, who … Read more CABINET SECRETARIES (CSs) IN KENYA

Repeal of the Law Capping Interest Rates

In September 2016, the Parliament supported the interest rate cap that allowed banks to charge 4 percentage points above the central bank benchmark rate at 9 per cent. However, on 5 November 2019, the interest rate cap law was repealed after the President refused to assent into law Finance bill 2019. Uhuru directed the Parliament … Read more Repeal of the Law Capping Interest Rates