Kenya Science Campus

Kenya Science campus is the former Kenya Science Teachers College (KSTC).  It was established in 1965 through partnership between the Government of the Republic of Kenya and the Swedish Government.  The Campus is situated in Nairobi, along Ngong’ Road, approximately 8 Km from the City center.  

The KSTC initially trained S1 teachers to teach Sciences and Technical Education (Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Industrial Education) in secondary schools.  From 1980, it started training Diploma in Science Education teachers in the same science subjects.  In 2002, the College introduced Computer Science as a main teaching subject alongside the Sciences.  A basic ICT course was also introduced as a support subject for all students admitted in the college to enable them be computer literate upon graduation.

The KSTC was elevated to become a Campus of the University of Nairobi following recommendations by the Public Universities Inspection Board, which were accepted by the Government of Kenya for subsequent implementation.  It was officially handed over to the University on October 9th 2007 and renamed Kenya Science Campus.

The Kenya Science Campus falls under the School of Education, College of Education and External Studies (CEES).  The recommendation to upgrade the former KSTC to a University Campus was informed by the observation that the Campus would expand teacher training in science education but at graduate level as the Diploma curriculum was phased out.  Consequently, the first intake of Bachelor of Education Science students was admitted in October 2007.  This cohort graduated in September 2011, while the last Diploma graduation was realized in November 2009.

The Bachelor of Education Science students are allowed to specialize in their preferred subject areas.  Combinations can be drawn from Chemistry, Physics, Biology, Mathematics, Physical Education and Sport, Agriculture and Geography.  The teaching staff for these subjects are therefore drawn from four of the six colleges of the University namely, College of Education and External Studies, College of Biological and Physical Sciences (CBPS), College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences (CAVS), and the College of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS).

The plan for the Campus is to be a premier institution for teacher education in science and technology.  In order to realize this, world-class interdisciplinary approaches to science teacher education shall continue to be entrenched through collaborative research, industrial linkages, and introduction and launch of additional relevant programmes.  

Since taking over the Campus in 2007, the University has created a serene environment conducive to learning and working.  The accommodation and catering facilities have been refurbished; games and sports facilities have either been restored or invigorated.  Lecture venues have been renovated and physical infrastructure expanded.  Construction of state-of-the-art chemistry, biology and physics laboratories each with capacity of 200 students has been realized.  A modern 500 – capacity fully networked lecture theatre, fitted with motorized twin projectors and screens has also been completed.  This particular facility has now made the Campus an attraction centre for both local and international conferences


In addition to the University of Nairobi vision, the Kenya Science Campus shall be a leading Centre of excellence in teacher education in science and technology, open learning, research and community service for sustainable development.


Furtherance of the mission of the University of Nairobi, the Kenya Science Campus aims at maintaining a leadership role in the generation, acquisition, application, dissemination and preservation of knowledge as well as consultancy and research, providing teacher education in Science and technology and creating an environment in which the frontiers of knowledge are extended.

Kenya Science Campus Contacts
Ngong Road opp. Nakumat Junction
P. O. Box 30596 00100 G.P.O
Tel : (254-020) 2480720
      :(254-020) 2665250