CABINET SECRETARIES (CSs) IN KENYA – On 14 January 2020, President Uhuru Kenyatta had a Cabinet secretaries’ reshuffle where he fired Mwangi Kiunjuri from the Ministry of Agriculture. Currently, the number of Cabinet Secretaries in Kenya is 21 with two nominees: Mutahi Kagwe and Betty Maina. The reshuffled CSs include Amb. Raychelle A. Omamo, who was moved from the Ministry of Defense to Ministry of Foreign Affair, the newly appointed CS in Defense is Amb. (Dr.) Monica K. Juma. After the dam scandals facing his Ministry, Simon K. Chelugui was moved from Ministry Water & Sanitation and Irrigation to Labour & Social Services. Sicily K. Kariuki is now in charge of this Ministry; she was also move from Ministry of Health. Former Nyeri Senator Mutahi Kagwe is the current nominee for the Ministry of Health. Ministry of Agriculture was added a new State Department of Co-operative which moved from Industrialization. The Department of Youth has been moved from Ministry of Public Service and Gender to ICT which is currently under Mr. Joe Mucheru.



Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government

Dr. Fred O. Matiang’i

Ministry of Education

Prof. George A.O. Magoha

Ministry of Defense

Amb. (Dr.) Monica K. Juma

Ministry of Tourism & Wildlife Chief Administrative Secretary

Najib Balala

Ministry of Transport, Infrastructure, Housing, Urban Development & Public Works

Mr. James W. Macharia

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Amb. Raychelle A. Omamo

Ministry of Sports, Culture & Heritage

Amb. Amina C. Mohamed

Ministry of East African Community & Regional Development

Mr. Adan A. Mohamed

Ministry of Water & Sanitation and Irrigation

Mrs. Sicily K. Kariuki

Ministry of Devolution

Hon. Eugene Wamalwa

Ministry of Energy

Hon. Charles Keter

Ministry of Information, Communication, Technology (ICT), Youth & Innovation

Mr. Joe Mucheru

Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries & Cooperatives

Hon. Peter Munya

Ministry of Public Service & Gender

Prof. Margaret Kobia

Ministry of Mining and Petroleum

Hon. John K. Munyes

Ministry of Labour & Social Services

Mr. Simon K. Chelugui

Ministry of Environment & Forestry

Mr. Keriako Tobiko

Ministry of Lands & Physical Planning

Ms. Farida C. Karoney

Ministry of National Treasury and Planning

Hon. (Amb.) Ukur K. Yatani

Ministry of Health

Hon. Mutahi Kagwe

Ministry of Industrialization

Betty Maina


According to the Kenyan constitution the number of Cabinet Secretaries should not less than 14 and not more than 22. The President nominates the Cabinet Secretaries who are later approved by with the approval National Assembly. The President is also entitled to re-assign or dismiss a Cabinet Secretary. Cabinet Secretary may also be dismissed when a member of the National Assembly supported by at least one-quarter of all the members of the Assembly, may recommends a motion necessitating the President to dismiss a Cabinet Secretary based on gross misconduct and crime